2016 COMP Gold Medal Recipient: Dr. G. Peter Raaphorst

Published by Mara Juneau

Published on July 12, 2016

The Gold Medal is the highest award given by COMP and recognizes an active or retired member who has worked mainly in Canada, has had an outstanding career and has made a significant contribution to the field of medical physics in Canada. Dr. G. Peter Raaphorst is this years’ recipient.

Dr. Raaphorst has made important contributions to the science of medical physics, particularly with his work in bringing radiobiology to the forefront of the field. He was recognized as a world authority on the effect of hyperthermia on cancer cells, and the mechanisms of synergistic biological effects of heat and radiation. During his research career, Peter supervised 22 graduate students, published 215 peer reviewed papers and eight book chapters, was cited 2172 times and received over 40 grants totaling $3.46 million.

Following his 20 year career as Head of Medical Physics at the Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre, Peter is now a Senior Consulting Scientist with the Ontario Association of Radiologists (OAR) Facility Accreditation Program for Bone Mineral Density, and he manages the Certified Bone Mineral Density Medical Physicists Program for the OAR. Peter was a founder of the Ottawa Medical Physics Institute, the primary academic unit at Carleton University where medical physics students are trained. He has directly and indirectly influenced the careers of numerous medical physics students.

Please join us in congratulating Peter!