2017 Award Recipients

Published by Mara Juneau

Published on July 19, 2017

The COMP Gold Medal is the highest award given by the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists, introduced in 2006. It is awarded to a member of COMP (or retired former member) who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of medical physics in Canada.

Congratulations to Jerry Battista, PhD, FCCPM, FAAPM, FCOMP, London Regional Cancer Program, Physics & Engineering, 2017 recipient!

The Fellow of COMP award (FCOMP) is recognizes an active member who has made a significant contribution to the field of medical physics and to COMP. It is awarded for outstanding contributions in research and development in the medical physics and professional practice, education/mentorship of medical physicists & and allied health personnel and service to COMP.

Congratulations to Luc Beaulieu, PhD, CHUQ - Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, Département de Radio-Oncologie!

The Sylvia Fedoruk Prize was introduced in 1986 by the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency to honour Dr. Sylvia Fedoruk for her 35 years of dedicated and distinguished service to Saskatchewan's cancer program. It is presented for the best paper within the field of medical physics, relating to work carried out within a Canadian institution and published during the past calendar year. The award consists of a plaque and a cash prize.

Congratulations to Christiane Burton, Western University, Medical Biophysics Department (formerly), University of Wisconsin Madison, Department of Radiology (currently) for “Energy subtraction angiography is comparable to digital subtraction angiography in terms of iodine Rose SNR” (co-author: John R. Mayo, Ian A. Cunningham)

The Michael S. Patterson Publication Prize was introduced in 2016. It is awarded for a scientific paper written by a COMP member that has had a tremendous impact on the field of medical physics. It considers peer-reviewed papers published in any scientific journal in the last ten years, with work being performed mainly at a Canadian institution.

Congratulations to Alex Vitkin, PhD M-CCPM, F-OSA, F-SPIE, Clinical Physicist, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre for “Speckle variance detection of microvasculature using swept-source optical coherence tomography” (co-authors: Adrian Mariampillai, Beau A. Standish, Eduardo H. Moriyama, Mamta Khurana, Nigel R. Munce, Michael K.K. Leung, James Jiang, Alex Cable, Brian C. Wilson, I. Alex Vitkin, and Victor X.D. Yang)

The J.R. Cunningham Young Investigators Awards are presented to the top three speakers in the J.R. Cunningham Young Investigators' Symposium held during the annual meeting of the COMP. The presentations are judged for scientific excellence and for clarity of presentation. The Symposium is widely recognised as one of the highlights of the annual meeting, with presentations that are of international calibre

1st place: Victor Malkov (Carleton University) for “Ion chamber quality and magnetic field conversion factors and angular dependence in magnetic fields” (co-author: David W.O. Rogers (Carleton University))

2nd place: Sahar Darvish-Molla, McMaster University, for “Development of an Advanced 2-D THGEM Detector and Multi-Input Digital Signal Processor System for the Measurement of Dose Distribution in Low and High LET Mixed Radiation Fields” (co-authors: Soo Hyun Byun (McMaster University), Kenrick Chin (McMaster University), William V. Prestwich (McMaster University))

3rd place: Chris Johnstone, University of Victoria, for “Development and Characterization of a Plastic Scintillating Detector for Small Animal Irradiators” (co-authors: Luc Beaulieu (Université Laval), Francois Therriault-Proulx (CHU de Quebec et CHUM), Magdalena Bazalova-Carter (University of Victoria))

The Oral Presentation Awards are presented each year at the ASM, given for the best oral presentation. Presentations are judged on both scientific merit and communication.  These competitions are open to all members and student members of COMP.  A four to six member panel, with at least two members from each sub-specialty, judges the presentations.

Congratulations to:

1st place: Reid Townson, Measurement Science and Standards, National Research Council Canada), for “The new radionuclide source model in EGSnrc” (co-authors: Frédéric Tessier (Measurement Science and Standards, National Research Council Canada), Raphael Galea (Measurement Science and Standards, National Research Council Canada)

2nd place: Dal Granville The Ottawa Hospital for “Augmenting physicist review of pre-treatment verification measurements with machine learning” (co-authors: Justin Sutherland (The Ottawa Hospital), Daniel La Russa (The Ottawa Hospital))

The Poster Awards are given each year at the COMP Annual Scientific Meeting. The posters are judged on both scientific merit and communication.  These competitions are open to all members and student members of COMP.  A four to six member panel, with at least two members from each sub-specialty, judges the poster presentations.

Congratulations to:

1st place: Cheryl Duzenli, BC Cancer Agency-Vancouver for "Recommendations for Dosimetric Commissioning of Proton Therapy for Iris Melanoma” (co-authors: Joel Beaudry (BC Cancer Agency-Vancouver), Clay Lindsay (University of Victoria), Richard Lee (BC Cancer Agency-Vancouver), Crystal Penner (University of British Columbia), Vince Strgar (BC Cancer Agency-Vancouver), Cornelia Hoehr (TRIUMF))

2nd place: Islam El Gamal, National Research Council Canada for “Experimental determination of the dose rate constant for an Ir-192 HDR source” (co-authors: Claudiu Cojocaru, Ernesto Mainegra-Hing, Malcolm McEwen, Brad Downton)