Congratulations to the 2016 COMP Award Winners!

Published by Mara Juneau

Published on August 09, 2016

Congratulations to the following Award Winners:

COMP Gold Medal - Peter Raaphorst

FCOMP Awards:

  • Boyd McCurdy
  • Peter McGhee
  • Jason Schella
  • Matthew Schmid
  • Katharina Sixel

Sylvia Fedoruk Award - Quinn Matthews, “Radiation-Induced Glycogen Accumulation Detected by Single Cell Raman Spectroscopy Is Associated with Radioresistance that Can Be Reversed by Metformin” (co-authors: Martin Isabelle, Samantha J. Harder, Julian Smazynski, Wayne Beckham, Alexandre G. Brolo, Andrew Jirasek, Julian J. Lum) (PLoS ONE 10(8): e0135356. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0135356)

Publication Impact Prize - Karl Otto, “Volumetric modulated arc therapy: IMRT in a single gantry arc” (Medical Physics 35, 310–317, 2008; DOI: 10.1118/1.2818738)

YIS Winners:

  1. Thomas Hrinivich, Combining sagittally-reconstructed 3D and live-2D ultrasound for high-dose-rate prostate brachytherapy needle segmentation (co-authors Douglas Hoover, Kathleen Surry, Chandima Edirisinghe, David D'Souza, Aaron Fenster, Eugene Wong)
  2. André Diamant, Modeling Metastasis after Lung SBRT Using Bayesian Network Averaging (co-authors Jan Seuntjens, Issan El Naqa, Norma Ybarra)
  3. Jason Crawford, New technologies for astatine-211 targeted alpha therapy research (co-authors Hua Yang, Paul Schaffer, Thomas Ruth)

Oral Abstract Winners:

  1. Samantha Harder, Radiation induced glycogen accumulation in non-small cell lung cancer xenografts detected using Raman spectroscopy (co-authors Martin Isabelle, Lindsay DeVorkin, Julian Smazynski, Wayne Beckham, Alexandre Brolo, Julian Lum, Andrew Jirasek)
  2. Joel St. Aubin, A deterministic solution to the first order linear Boltzmann transport equation including magnetic fields (co-authors Amir Keyvanloo, Oleg Vassilev, B. Gino Fallone) 

Poster Winners (tied for 1st place):

  • Danielle Anderson, Air kerma rate measurements using a cylindrical free-air ionization chamber on the 05B1-1 beamline at the Canadian Light Source (co-authors lbert Siegbahn, Gino Fallone, Brad Warkentin)
  • Todd Stevens, A parametrized prediction model of rectal toxicity in focal SBRT of low risk prostate cancer (co-author Glenn Bauman)