Dr. Terry Peters: Recipient of the 2019 Comp Gold Medal Award

Published by Mara Juneau

Published on August 19, 2019

The Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2019 Gold medal is Dr. Terry Peters. 

The Gold Medal is the highest award given by COMP and recognizes an active or retired member who has worked mainly in Canada, has had an outstanding career and has made a significant contribution to the field of medical physics in Canada. A significant contribution is defined as one or more of the following:

  • A body of work which has added to the knowledge base of medical physics in such a way as to fundamentally alter the practice of medical physics.
  • Leadership positions in medical physics organizations which have led to improvements in the status and public image of medical physicists in Canada
  • Significant influence on the professional development of the careers of medical physicists in Canada through educational activities or mentorship

Throughout a career spanning almost 50 years, Dr. Peters has gained visibility for his contributions to medical imaging and image-guided interventional procedures both Canada-wide and internationally. His enthusiasm and love of science and technology are reflected in the work of his many mentees who are also shaping the future of the profession. Dr. Peter’s work includes over one thousand combined abstract presentations, invited lectures and published articles.

Within the founding years of The Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine (CCPM), Dr. Peters earned his Fellowship and took an active role within the organization. His contributions were recognized in 2013 when he received a Fellow of COMP (FCOMP) award. Dr. Peters has led many research programs focused on medical imaging and is responsible for an active program in image-guided interventions that continues at the Robarts Research Institute today. 

COMP will be honouring Dr. Peters at a special ceremony that will be taking place on September 26 at the Annual Scientific Meeting in Kelowna, BC.

For further information, please contact:
Nancy Barrett, CAE
Executive Director